Toll-Free Reservations: 1-877-838-8149 | Email Us
Book by phone: +1 (877) 838-8149
Lanai

Makalae

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental house. Sleeps 10, 5 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms. No pets allowed.

2598-B Hoonani Rd. Koloa, HI 96756 United States

Makalae. Ma-KAH-lie (coast; beach, shore, coast near a point i.e. lae)


Located on the South side of Kaua'i in Poipu. This is architecturally delightful slate roofed 3,332 sq. ft. home has spectacular views of the blue Pacific waters. Makalae is a truly intricate and beautifully designed house that has many special features. A 5-bedroom, 5-bathroom home with dual master suites, it is exquisitely designed with 5" Brazilian Cherry floors throughout. The doors and screen doors are handmade out of mahogany, a fully equipped gourmet kitchen with top of the line appliances, slab marble and granite countertops throughout, fully air conditioned with a state-of-the-art sound and security system will make your vacation truly luxurious.


Makalae is a warm welcoming luxurious home with fine furnishings and accessories. The craftsmanship of this house was expertly built to take full advantage of memorable sunsets in the western Hawaiian sky and the southern trade winds known as Ku'amanini of Weliweli or Ko'omakani of Maha'ulepu, as named by the Hawaiians.


Close by are surf, swimming, fishing, snorkeling, boating, hiking, great eateries and fine restaurants.


As a guest at Makalae & RE/MAX Kauai, you'll have access to Kauai's Premier Concierge Service at (855) 665-2824 or visit http://kauaiva.com/index.html we will help you build your perfect vacation.


On Island Emergency contact number (808) 635-4495 * Cyrila Pycha * Email: rekmgr@gmail.com


Hawaii Tax ID# 006-836-2240-01

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type House, 2 story, Built in 2006
Unit Code MAKALAE
Beds 3 king beds, 1 queen bed, 2 twin beds
Bathrooms 5 bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 10, Home has 3 kings, 1 queen, 2 twins (can not be converted) 2-Pack N Plays available in home.
Floor Area 3352 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Living Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Central Air, Hairdryer, High Speed Internet, Ironing Board, Linens, Pack & Play (Play Pen), Phone, Washer & Dryer, Wireless Internet, Iron
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Bank, Nearby Post Office
Entertainment Books, Cable TV, Flat Screen TV
Kitchen Blender, Can Opener, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Dishwasher, Full Kitchen, Microwave, Mixing bowls/measuring cups, Refrigerator, Rice Cooker, Toaster
Outdoor Beach Chairs, Beach Towels, Boogie Boards, Cooler, Gas Grill, Lanai, Lanai Furniture, Outdoor Shower
Geographic Near Beach, Nearby Golf Course, Nearby Tennis Courts
Convenience Garage Use, Nearby Grocery, Nearby Medical Services, Outlet Shopping
Culture Nearby Hawaiian Luau
Average Manager Rating (Based on 3002 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 4 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Fabulous Home

    Stayed 7 days ending in December, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Janet V from Santa Ana, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Our family of 7 adults spent an amazing Christmas staying in Makalae. I needn't have worried about cooking Christmas dinner - the kitchen is a chef's dream and the 2 dishwashers make cleaning up a breeze. We gathered each morning on the lanai for breakfast to plan our day. There is excellent snorkeling at Koala Landing, a 3 min walk. We saw sea turtles in the rocky cove across the street and enjoyed the sandy beach which was a 10 min walk. Each of the 5 bedrooms was spacious with its own bathroom. The garage is stocked with beach equipment, and another big plus for a large family were the 2 washers and dryers ! We hope to return again to the beautiful home in the future.

  •  
  • Family vacation

    Stayed 10 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Stephen R from El Cerrito, CA recommends this vacation rental

    Great location and a wonderful house. Two complaints. One is that they photo shopped out the telephone pole and wires in the web site pictures but no big deal. The other was that one of the showers was not operable. I had to go to the hardware store to buy an Allen wrench to fix it. I was told I would be reimbursed but haven't been yet.

    • Manager Responded on 5/5/2016

      Aloha and Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Makalae. I would like to personally apologize on behalf of RE/MAX Kauai for the inoperable shower during your stay and that it caused you an inconvenience. I do show that you were reimbursed on April 6, 2016. If you have not seen this credit, I suggest you contact your credit card company immediately. As for the photo shopped telephone pole, I'm surprised to hear this as we don't photo shop our photos other than to add more light. I will look into the photo and have it corrected. We prefer our guest see exactly what they are getting. I am happy that you otherwise enjoyed your stay on the beautiful island of Kauai. -Tamee D.

  •  
  • A Perfect Place for a Family Reunion

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Tammy F from Aloha, Oregon recommends this vacation rental

    You can not find a better place to enjoy Hawaii as a family. With 5 bedrooms, each with their own bath, our family had enough space to spread out and enjoy some privacy amidst the family reunion. The upper floors have a dynamic view of the ocean. The house includes two high-end washer and dryers and two dishwashers which for a family of 10 adults was a must! The large stovetop even includes a griddle for a morning of pancakes. There are two large living areas, one up and one down, with large screen televisions in both. The garage is full of boogie boards, snorkel gear, children's reef-runners, beach chairs, umbrellas, and even a nice rolling cooler. There is a gas grill on the deck. The only drawback to the house is the condos being built right along the driveway; however, they do not obscure the view, and we found the noise indistinguishable when in the house with the air conditioner running. The workers are not there on the weekend and leave at the end of the day. We were out having fun most of the time they were working, so no one complained in our party about it at all. This house is built for a family. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  •  
  • Wonderful family retreat!

    Stayed 6 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    Excellent place to stay for vacation. Family had plenty of room to have their own space (with bedrooms and separate bathrooms). It would have been better if refrig worked better (needed to be colder and ice maker did not work). Training on how to work AC might have been helpful...we had no idea that master bedroom controlled all AC in other bedrooms until we called property management. You made it easy to get key with lockbox. Thank you for a nice place to stay!

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
21.878172,-159.466738

The RE/MAX network is a global real estate system of franchisee owned and operated offices and their affiliated independent professionals.

RE/MAX affiliates lead the industry in professional designations and production.

RE/MAX International is an Equal Opportunity Employer and supports the Fair Housing Act.

© 2008 RE/MAX Kauai, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

RE/MAX Kauai PO Box 223609 Princeville, HI 96722 +1 (877) 838-8149 remaxonkauai@gmail.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon